

TO:	All Full-time Faculty Members
FROM:	Faculty Senate Agenda Committee
SUBJECT:	Faculty Senate Meeting

I. The next meeting of the 2014-15 Faculty Senate will be:

Date: Wednesday, 21 January Time: 11:45 AM to 1:25 PM Place: Raytheon, 240 EC

II. Agenda

- A. Approval of the 3 December minutes
- B. Senate Agenda Committee Report (Professor Daynard)
- C. Provost's Report (Provost Director)
- D. Questions and discussion
- III. Excellence in Teaching Awards (Professor Daynard)

BE IT RESOLVED That, as of the 2015-16 academic year,

- 1. Each college (Bouvé College of Health Sciences, College of Art, Media and Design, College of Computer and Information Science, College of Social Science and Humanities, College of Engineering, College of Science, College of Professional Studies, D'Amore McKim School of Business, and School of Law) is encouraged to select one faculty member by February 1 of each year for a [name of College or donor] Excellence in Teaching Award. Each college may determine for itself the eligibility criteria and procedure for its Award, with the exception that significant student participation is required. If the college wishes to nominate its Award recipient for the University Excellence in Teaching Award, it should forward the recipient's name and an explanation of why the recipient was chosen to the Faculty Senate Office by February 1.
- 2. The University-wide Excellence in Teaching Award process, last amended on 6 October 1997, is discontinued. In its stead, the following provisions shall apply:

- a. The University Excellence in Teaching Awards Selection Committee shall consist of four faculty members (with two-year staggered terms) chosen by the Senate Agenda Committee; an undergraduate student chosen by the Student Government Association; a graduate student chosen by the Graduate Student Association; and the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, who will chair the Committee.
- b. The Committee will choose two of that year's college award recipients to receive the University Excellence in Teaching Award who will be honored at the University Honors Convocation.
- IV. Report and recommendation of the Senate Committee for Financial Affairs (Professor Leslie)

BE IT RESOLVED That the Faculty Senate supports the recommendation of the Financial Affairs Committee for a merit raise pool increase of 4% in the fiscal year, 2016, effective 1 July 2015.

V. Program proposal (Professor Fitzgerald)

BE IT RESOLVED That the University establish the BS in Politics, Philosophy, and Economics (PPE) in the College of Social Sciences and Humanities as approved by the University Undergraduate Curriculum Committee on 8 October 2014 by a vote of 7-1-2.

VI. Report and recommendation of the Senate Committee for Full-time, Non-tenure-track Faculty (Professor Rabrenovic)

BE IT RESOLVED That the University establish new titles as follows:

- the title of Assistant Academic Specialist shall be changed to Assistant Teaching Professor;
- the title of Associate Academic Specialist shall be changed to Associate Teaching Professor; and
- the title of Senior Academic Specialist shall be changed to Teaching Professor.
- VII. Recommendation to eliminate programs (Professor Hanson)

BE IT RESOLVED That the University eliminate the following Associate Engineering Degrees in the College of Professional Studies:

- Mechanical Engineering Technology
- Computer Engineering Technology
- Electrical Engineering Technology