SAC Report

Faculty Senate Meeting 17 February 2021

SAC activities since 3 February 2021

Met weekly for usual business towards preparing senate meeting agendas.

- AEOC completed work in January, reports have been distributed to faculty in relevant units.
- Klein Lecturer was announced; Rhonda Board represented the senate in the committee.
- Formed the committee for the University Excellence in Teaching Award
- Formed the Ad-hoc Committee on Climate Justice Action Planning
- Have been preparing for new senator elections at colleges

Met with Provost Madigan & Deb Franko and discussed faculty handbook changes, new postdoc compensation policy, financial status and merit raises, caregiving crisis.

Curriculum updates: Name changes that we will discuss today in new business.



Ad-hoc Committee on Climate Justice Action Planning

Inspired by Northeastern's commitment to leadership in sustainability and resilience, and in recognition of the inequitable consequences of climate change on various communities, the Climate Justice Action Planning committee will:

- 1. Develop a definition of climate justice action within a global university such as Northeastern;
- 2. Provide recommendations to update and expand on the University's 2010 Climate Action Plan by including modifications that emphasize a university-wide commitment to climate justice action;
- 3. Propose specific steps to enable Northeastern' to operationalize climate justice action, including suggestions on specific mechanisms for climate justice action to be integrated into the university's strategic planning process.

_				_		
١	٧л	_	_	ւե	_	rs
ľ	VI	-	11		-	15

Jennie C Stephens Committee Chair, Prof of Sustainability Science and Policy & Director of School of Public Policy and Urban Affairs, CSSH

Martha Davis Prof of Law, SOL

Joan Fitzgerald Prof of Public Policy, CSSH

Auroop Ganguly Prof of Civil and Environmental Engineering, COE **Sharon Harlan** Prof and Department Chair, Health Sciences, BCHS

Randall Hughes Assoc Prof of Marine and Env. Science & Assoc Dean of Equity, COS

Brian Helmuth Prof of Marine and Env.I Science, COS & Prof of School of Public Policy & Urban Affairs. CSSH

Ted Landsmark Distinguished Professor of Public Policy, CSSH

Kelsey Pieper Asst Prof of Civil and Environmental Engineering, COE

Sheila M. Puffer University Distinguished Prof, Prof of International Business and Strategy, DMSB

Rebecca Riccio Lecturer, Human Services & Director, Social Impact Lab, CSSH



Elected Senator Distribution for AY2020-21

According to the latest full-time faculty counts, the number of elected senators will remain the same for each college during the next academic year.

	Faculty	AY2021-22 Senators
BCHS (Bouve)	201	4
CAMD	167	4
COE	274	6
COS	242	5
CSSH	241	5
CPS	90	2
DMSB (D'Amore-McKim)	186	4
KCCS (Khoury)	118	2
SOL	48	1
Total	1567	33

