### FACULTY SENATE BYLAWS

# 1. Definition

The Faculty Senate, together with the Administration of the University, has the responsibility of maintaining and improving the academic standards of the University and making the functioning of the University more effective and harmonious. It is the highest faculty governance body in the University. It also coordinates activities among the various College faculties as well as those that involve both the administration and faculty of the University.

### 2. Functions and Responsibilities of the Faculty Senate

- To act as a coordinating body to establish mutually satisfactory academic goals and standards among the various Colleges and divisions;
- To be consulted as either a whole body or in appropriate committees on all policies, proposals, and problems of faculty concern, including such matters as the creation of new colleges, new campuses, and new departments;
- c. To be the final faculty body to deliberate and act upon recommendations from the University Undergraduate Curriculum Committee or the Graduate Council;
- d. To initiate consideration and recommendation on any matter of faculty concern;
- e. To undertake such legislative and advisory functions in connection with the work of the University as may be referred to it by the President and Board of Trustees; and
- f. To provide communication between the University faculty and the Administration.

#### 3. Composition

The Faculty Senate comprises forty members, thirty three elected faculty members, the Provost, and six administrators who are full-time members of the faculty appointed by the President or their designee. Thirty three faculty members are There shall be no less than two elected faculty members from each degree granting college, with the total number of senators determined by two percent of the total number of full-time faculty in each college rounded to the nearest whole number. Faculty members are elected by and from the full-time faculty of the degree-granting Colleges.

Other members of the University Community may attend meetings of the Senate, but they have no vote and enter into discussion only at the pleasure of the Senate.

- a. Officers of the Senate
  - 1. The Chair of the Faculty Senate shall be the Provost. The Chair shall normally preside at all meetings of the Senate, although the President of the University may preside at the President's pleasure.
  - The Vice Chair shall be elected annually from among the elected members of the Senate. The Vice Chair shall preside at the Senate in the absence of the Chair, and act as Chair of the Faculty Senate Agenda Committee. In either of these capacities, the Vice Chair shall retain their right to vote.
  - 3. The Secretary shall be elected annually from among the elected members of the Senate. The Secretary shall record the business of the Senate, and at the completion of every academic year shall submit a written report of the Senate's activities to the University faculty.

Formatted: Font: 11 pt, Strikethrough

Formatted: Strikethrough

- 4. The remaining four members of the Agenda Committee shall be elected annually from among the elected members of the Senate.
- 5. The procedure for the election of the Vice Chair, Secretary and remaining four members of the Senate Agenda Committee shall be the same as that for election of Senators (below).

# b. Elections and Terms of Senators

The term of office for elected Senate members shall be two years, and run from July 1 of the first academic year to June 30 of the second academic year In case of a vacancy during a term, a special election shall be held to select a member for the unexpired portion. A member may serve two successive full terms. A member who has just completed two successive full terms is eligible for reelection a year later. Thirty three Full-time faculty members of the Senate shall be elected proportionately from the following degree-granting Colleges: Bouvé College of Health Sciences, College of Arts Media and Design, College of Computer and Information Sciences; College of Engineering, College of Professional Studies, College of Science, College of Social Sciences and Humanities, D'Amore-McKim School of Business, <u>Mills College at Northeastern</u> and the School of Law. Each of these Units shall have at least <u>one two</u> Senate representatives, but those with larger faculties shall have correspondingly more representatives. In the spring semester of every year, prior to the election, the Senate Agenda Committee will announce the number <u>of the thirty three</u> Senate seats to be given each College for the following year. Its determination shall be based upon the number of full-time faculty members in each of the Colleges on February 1.

Formatted: Strikethrough

Formatted: Strikethrough