New England Future Faculty Workshop (FFW)

2018 Planning Team

Penny J. Beuning *Professor, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Northeastern University*

Penny J. Beuning is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Northeastern University. Her research on DNA damage tolerance and protein engineering has been recognized with a Cottrell Scholar Award, an NSF CAREER Award, an American Cancer Society Research Scholar Award, and the 2015 Chemical Research in Toxicology Young Investigator Award. The integration of teaching and research form the foundation for her educational pursuits. Prof. Beuning has been active in formal efforts to enhance the recruitment and retention of groups traditionally underrepresented in the sciences and she is currently on the board of the Boston chapter of Graduate Women in Science. Prof. Beuning earned a B.A. in Chemistry from Macalester College in St. Paul, MN, and a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota (2000) in the field of RNA-protein interactions and RNA biochemistry. She completed postdoctoral research focused on protein-protein interactions that regulate cellular responses to DNA damage at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.





Charisse Pickron
Ph.D. in Psychological
and Brain Sciences University of Massachusetts, Amherst and President's
Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Minnesota

Charisse Pickron will begin the President's Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Minnesota's Institute of Child Development in August 2018. She graduated with her Ph.D. in Developmental Science from the Psychological and Brain Sciences department at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst this past May 2018. She received her B.A. in Psychology from Mount Holyoke College and her Master's of Science from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Her research focuses on infants' perception and conceptual representations of people in their environment. Charisse uses several methods including looking time, reaching, eye-tracking and Electroencephalography to measure infant development.

Jan Rinehart Executive Director of ADVANCE Office of Faculty Development

Jan Rinehart is Executive Director of the ADVANCE Office of Faculty Development at Northeastern University. As Executive Director of ADVANCE she works with faculty and administrators to diversify the faculty, create an equitable culture, and change institutional processes. She has over twenty-five years of experience in higher education with most of her work focused on equity and diversity. Prior to assuming the Northeastern ADVANCE position, she served as Executive Director of the Rice University ADVANCE Program, the Deputy Director of the Space Engineering Institute, and the Director of Engineering Student Programs at Texas A&M University. Jan sits on ADVANCE External Advisory Boards for University of Massachusetts-Lowell, University of Delaware, University of Maine, Prairie-View A&M University, Louisiana Tech University, and the University of Maryland-Baltimore County. She initiated the Women in Engineering program at Texas A&M University in 1994 and served as WEPAN (Women in Engineering Programs and Advocates Network) President from 2002-2003. She was awarded the WEPAN Founder's Award in 2011, the Rice Women's Resource Center Impact Award in 2010; the Texas A&M Enhancing Diversity Award; and the Women's Week Outstanding Staff award. She received her M.S. in Higher Education Administration from Texas A&M University and a B.S. in secondary education from Abilene Christian University.



Erinn Taylor de Barroso
Assistant Director of ADVANCE Office of Faculty Development

Erinn is the Assistant Director of the ADVANCE Office of Faculty Development at Northeastern. Since joining Northeastern in 2018, she collaborates with the Executive Director and faculty across the university in efforts to diversify the faculty, create an equitable culture, and change institutional processes. Erinn has nearly fifteen years of experience in higher education, with most of her previous experience focused on graduate admissions and student success at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, the University of Kanas, and the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She has also worked in the University Ombuds Office at the University of Kansas. She holds a Master of Public Administration from the University of Missouri-Kansas City and a B.B.A. with a concentration in marketing from Texas A&M International University, and is a Ph.D. candidate in Higher Education Administration at the University of Kansas.